• This Site
  • All C&T Science Resources
Wordpress Facebook You Tube Twitter

CCTS Partners

The CCTS is strengthened by its partners at local, regional and national levels

Local Collaboration

The CCTS leverages expertise from colleges across The Ohio State University including scientists and clinicians from the seven Health Sciences colleges, the OSU Wexner Medical Center and Nationwide Children’s Hospital. Rebecca Jackson, MD is the principal investigator of the CTSA; co-principal investigators include John Barnard, MD, of Nationwide Children’s Hospital, and William Malarkey, MD. The 10 program directors and their co-directors come from varied scientific and educational backgrounds and include faculty from Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Optometry, Public Health, Veterinary Medicine and Dentistry.

Faculty, staff and students within The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center have a strong commitment to clinical and translational research and are actively engaged in all aspects of the CCTS mission. In the submission of this grant and through the creation of the CCTS, they have joined together with faculty from across The Ohio State University to synergize, leverage and create this new academic discipline of clinical and translational science at OSU.

Nationwide Children’s Hospital and The Ohio State University enjoy a long-standing academic relationship built on a shared commitment to excellence in learning and collaboration. Nationwide Children’s Hospital serves as the training site for a large number of medical, nursing and allied professional students from a variety of academic departments at OSU. The Research Institute at Nationwide Children's Hospital serves as a subcontractor for many of the research projects coordinated through the CCTS and several members of The Research Institute have been designated as co-lead investigators.

Regional Networks

Established in May 2013, the Ohio Clinical Trials Collaborative (OCTC) is a statewide model comprised of Ohio's three Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) - The Ohio State University Center for Clinical and Translational Science, Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative (CTSC) of Cleveland, and the University of Cincinnati Center for Clinical and Translational Science and Training - that initiated discussions to develop this clinical trials concept statewide.

In addition to the three CTSA sites, partners in the statewide network include: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cleveland Clinic, MetroHealth Medical Center, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Practice Based Research Network, and University Hospitals Case Medical Center. In partnership with the State of Ohio, OCTC will contribute to the success of Governor Kasich's vision for a statewide Medical Corridor. | Learn more

The Midwest Area Research Consortium for Health (MARCH) provides an established infrastructure for investigators and external sponsors who want to conduct collaborative clinical research at academic institutions across the Midwest. MARCH aims to promote collaboration opportunities to enhance ethnic diversity and demographic variety in clinical research, provide access to large sample size research across multiple sites, and increase opportunities to conduct research on rare diseases.

MARCH provides opportunities for improved efficiency through reciprocal IRB deferral agreements, accessibile clinical research management tools, enhanced participant recruitment via multi-site research studies, and simplified fiscal management. MARCH brochure | OSU MARCH brochure insert

The Appalachian Translational Research Network (ATRN) is committed to addressing the significant health challenges and disparities specific to Appalachia by enhancing research collaborations to speed the translation of scientific discoveries to health improvements for this region.

The ATRN seeks to foster Community Engagement and Outreach to those in the Appalachian region. In addition, the ATRN will serve as a conduit for enhancing T1 research collaborations in areas relevant to the chronic health conditions prevalent in Appalachia. | Learn more

Multi-state consortium of academic research centers launches to spark translational medicine collaborations

The Strategic Pharma-Academic Research Consortium for Translational Medicine (SPARC) is an organization that was created to promote and support innovative collaborations across academic research centers and the biopharmaceutical industry.

SPARC includes a list of institutional members made up of four midwestern academic medical centers supported by the NIH Clinical and Translational Science Awards, as well as two major pharmaceutical companies, Eli Lilly and Co. and Takeda Pharmaceuticals International Inc. The organization, established in July 2012, provides a platform for research projects that build upon the unique strengths of academia and industry. | Learn more

National Consortium

The Ohio State University is one of more than 60 academic medical research institutions working together as a national consortium to improve the way biomedical research is conducted across the country. The consortium, funded through the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA), shares a common vision to reduce the time it takes for laboratory discoveries to become treatments for patients, and to engage communities in clinical research efforts.

The award provides support services to Ohio State researchers while fostering collaboration with other medical centers that are recipients of the grants. It is also fulfilling the critical need to train the next generation of clinical researchers. The CTSA initiative is led by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This NIH grant marks a new era in collaboration internally and externally, enabling research and clinical trials to be quickly translated into treatments benefiting patients and the entire community.

Other 2008 Awardees:

Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University • Boston University • University of Colorado Denver • Harvard University • Indiana University School of Medicine • The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio • Northwestern University • The Scripps Research Institute • Stanford University • The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill • Tufts University • The University of Alabama at Birmingham • The University of Utah

Back to Top New Information

See Older News